Writing from the Heart Day 5

2 Jun

Today we talked about walking in balance, between Life (eros) and Death (Thanatos). We each shared our natural inclination towards one or the other – whether we liked colours, flowers, parties, children, food,… or preferred rain, antiques, silver, night, rain, dark chocolate…

“Fluctuation is an indication of psychosis. It is normal to fluctuate between the two states,” Tony explained.

Normal and psychosis in the same sentence. How rare!

And then the writing exercise for the day began. We wrote a short para for each state – eros and thanatos.

This was what I expelled –

Eros
Christmas. My favourite time of the year. The salad is done, the turkey and ham made the whole room smell beautiful. Soon, Uncle Philip, Aunty Susan, Mike, Jason, Suzie and all my friends will be here. Hubby bought a bottle of bubbly for tonight but there won’t be any for me, but it’s okay cos ….. Baby, you are worth more to me than another tipsy night. And soon you will join our great big family.

Thanatos
Alone again this Christmas. I had no plans. I couldn’t bring myself to join the party and checked into the Four Chain hotel. It was no Four Seasons – windowless and smelling like sex. Sex. I can still remember the last time. I remember the tears that flowed as he broke me, inside out. I tore the gaudy wrapper off the present with the type-written card. Dark chocolate from Godiva. Typical. So what if your wife is giving birth. I really don’t like babies.
β˜…β˜…β˜…

As a writer, the real challenge is to be able to be both.

Hmmm.

Can’t I just be me?

3 Responses to “Writing from the Heart Day 5”

  1. Jeyna Grace June 15, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

    Interesting. Never saw the two approaches. Definitely needs to be a good balance between both.

    • yuehann June 15, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

      You should try it Jeyna! Write something in the fashion of both states. πŸ™‚

      • Jeyna Grace June 15, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

        Will definitely give it a try πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

