Still.Life: You Light Up my Life!

3 Jun

We did a study of a old rusty (but oh so full of character) oil lantern. Paired up with a couple of bowls. Honestly, it was a pain to paint in all the details on the lantern and getting the colours right, but it was pretty good practise.

Image

As a painting in itself, I guess it wasn’t really anything particularly pretty or “artistic” to look at, and so I pretty much took it as just “training”.

My mum would ask me later when I got home, if I was ever going to “complete” the painting (and those others slowly but surely accumulating in the house).

I shrugged.

I’ll admit that my not returning to the paintings was very possibly due to my own laziness. I had to stop and question myself at some point – was there ANY point in doing what I was doing? Was it pointless? Does it HAVE to make a point? [Haha.. I just made four points in one rambling sentence. Geddit??]

Well, the way I see it. I paint, not to become an “artist” or to sell my works or even for the end product itself. The act of putting paint on canvas, playing with colours, shapes, perception, and simply getting my hands dirty with it all, was quite simply, having fun! At least for me it is.

So there… onwards.

May 19: Oil Lantern with bowls

After a full day tete-a-tete with the oil lantern, trying to translate what it was telling me into colours, lines and what not… this was what I had.

Image

I would love to claim full credit, but as usual, I had huge help with the lantern.

It was challenging to paint the lantern to bring out the dusty, rusty look and even the shape in itself took up quite some time on my part to get right. I am so terrible with proportions! Eeeps.

A comparison.. Before and After teacher's hand

A comparison.. Before and After teacher’s hand

My teacher is amazing.

Well, I find my little joys where I am able to succeed, i.e. the cloth. I didn’t think I was going to paint a realistic rendition of the batik cloth, so I just picked a hue inspired by the cloth and let loose. I didn’t follow the folds in the actual set up either, I improvised because I knew I wasn’t going to be able to replicate exactly. The end product was pretty okay – no?

Oh yes, and the bowls. Gosh… so hard to get the 3D-ness done and particularly when it was on bowls with specific patterns! What do you focus on?

At the end of the session, I wiped the sweat off my brow, threw in my paint stained rag and called it a day. Decent stuff for a training day.

I know I have much to learn still but I believe, as long as I move onward (and not stop), I will always go somewhere.

Eventually.

Wherever I end up.

At least I can say I had fun. đŸ˜‰

One Response to “Still.Life: You Light Up my Life!”

  1. hiking laguna beach area June 4, 2013 at 6:14 am #

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later in life.
    I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

