Everything is just going oh so … peachy?

15 Oct

Sometimes you feel stuck in a rut. You don’t really know why, you just do.

You know you don’t deserve not to be stuck, because you haven’t been working as hard as you should.

In short, you deserve it.

And when I say “you”, I really mean “I”.

=.=

Today, like any other day, I made my way to my weekly session. All the while thinking – “what am I doing? what am i accomplishing?? Is this a waste of my time?”

Yet,  in spite of the sucky feeling and negative thoughts, I reasoned that I should at least make it a point to arrive. And whatever happens after that… happens.

And with a resolute sigh, I entered the hall.

Whoa.

My dad did a fantastic job with today’s still life composition. (I felt guilty for not trying half as hard.) Inspired by his efforts, I sat down to muse.

“Ok, this looks do-able,” I thought to myself, “I’ll just focus on the peaches. I really suck at the flower stuff anyway.”

And so I did.

Couple of hours later, my mood lifted and I was able to complete a rather decent product (though the product was, in itself, not really the point of the exercise).

I looked at my easel…

… and thought to myself – “Pretty decent no?”

Hmm, I was getting the hang of colour mixes and doing round fruits! Like after 1+ year of practise! Oh my goodness… I must share this.

This was roughly how my mind processed it.

Step One: Look at the dark and light parts to determine “value”

It’s a little like seeing everything in monochrome, ignoring colour. Like this…

Step Two: Mix colours to match the subject

In reality, the natural colours look muted, so I mentally saturate the colours (which I show below using photo editing software to illustrate).  Notice how the shadows are like in green and cyan blue? It gave me an idea of how to mix a suitable dark shadow colour that would go nicely with the peaches. It’s not always black… or brown….

Step Three: Just put the colours in where your eyes see them

In the case of peaches, observe that the dark portions were orange-reddish and the lighter parts a yellow tinged white? This gave me two ends of the colour palette for the peaches. With these two colours mixed on the palette, as well as any intermediary colours, the next step would be to apply it on the canvas as my eyes perceived them.

And voila! Success!

=D

It’s more like hit-and-miss and trial-and-error, rather than any “skill” at this point. but it is in reflection that I remember what works. All these little lessons do somehow add up in the end.

I’m pretty happy with the outcome. I know it is far from perfect but I’m satisfied with it. Pretty good for a day that actually started out rather blandly.

See! You never really know what you will get by simply appearing. Tis a good reason to get disciplined!

I may not make masterpieces each time I paint but each time I DO, I will learn something new. And THAT is good enough for me.

2 Responses to “Everything is just going oh so … peachy?”

  1. sze hong October 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I absolutely love this “peachy” piece!

Leave a Reply

