Case of the missing June Twelve

17 Jul

Previously on Still.Life … (Note: to be read alike those flashback VO thingies for American drama series)

Well, I wish I had a more dramatic story to follow but sorry folks! 😛

Then again, June Twelve sounds like a really cute tongue-in-cheek character name for a mystery thriller eh?  She’ll never forgot the day she was born… *scribble into notebook for later use*

Ok, where was I?

Ah yes… the non-sexy story.

This post is an errata of sorts, as there was another painting that I had left out of last month’s review post. The reason for this was nothing mysterious at all – I just simply forgot to bring my trusty Panasonic LX3 camera for the shoot.  But I did take pictures with my lau-kok-kok Nokia phone. Bah~

June 12 - Mediterranean-ness?

I was really delighted to be painting non-floral objects and made rather good progress.

Work in Progress

Since digital pictures are all time-stamped, it was good to see how long I actually took to finish the painting.  I usually just lose track of my time when on the canvas.

@10:54am – Begin drafting
@11:20am – Ref 1st pic above, completed charcoal draft
(with amendments from Teacher who took all of 2 mins or less to tighten my composition…)
@12:52pm – Ref 2nd pic, blocking in the basic colours of main objects. Break for lunch.
@3:01pm – Ref 3rd pic, Teacher worked his magic on the glass bottle upon the mess I created (I am hopeless at glass stuff!) and I rounded things up with the background.

Phew! All in a day’s work!

Here’s the final (unfinished) product again, up close, in better lighting and with my LX3.

What a difference a camera makes!

… and all the flaws in my painting are now incrementally apparent too.

Sigh.

On a brighter note, I am happy with my peppers.

It’s not perfect, but it’s mine.

🙂

4 Responses to “Case of the missing June Twelve”

  1. Little Pixy Boots July 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Hey Yue Hann, I think I need you to teach me oil painting, cos I didn’t have any training in that at all! Hope you’ll help me in future 🙂 I would really like to learn…. 🙂

    • yuehann July 19, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Heehee… for sure I would! But i am not qualified to teach at all. I would gladly intro you to my Teacher though. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still.Life.September: Much Ado About Food (Paintings) « Still.Life. - October 2, 2011

    […] I KNOW I have painted nice peppers before.  But I guess it’s a hit-and-miss thing for beginners like me. […]

  2. Happy Anniversary Still.Life! Here’s to 35 paintings! « Still.Life. - October 23, 2011

    […] Still.Life June: Freekin Stuck & Case of the Missing June Twelve […]

Leave a Reply

