Still.Life.June: Freekin Stuck!

3 Jul

30 days, 4 Sundays and 2 (half done) paintings.

Losing steam maybe?

I guess that’s what happens when life takes over and relegates your leisurely pursuits into cold storage.  Nonetheless, this blog will continue to track my progress in my “art practise”… even if I am bored of seeing my own paintings. In’t gonna win me any popularity contest out there in the blogosphere but who cares.

So there… looking very holiday-ish for this month of June –

June 5 Challenger: Coconut House

This was my second attempt at a coconut and while it was fun to draw (I like ’em round hehe), the rest of the stuff that comes with it was truly testing my patience.

Here’s the progress I made for that day…

I am embarrassed to say that to date… the painting is still in the same sad state that I left it earlier last month.

No excuse as to why I didn’t finish it… I was pure lazy. And it didn’t like it all that much really. I merely fancied the background colour and the coconut, both of which were NOT the subject of the arrangement and hence… kind of missing the point.

You can’t really see from the picture but I tried to make some kind of a “special effect” with the background (see top right corner) where I used broad brushstrokes to put down blocks of strong-ish colours. I was bored with just making everything look nice-y blend-y. Looks kinda interesting duncha think?

Anyway, this piece will most probably be recycled.  Oops! Sorry 老师…  I know you spent quite some to help me correct it. 😦

June 26 Challenger: Straw Hat & Tropical Flora

Does anyone know what the flower in the arrangement is called? Birds of Paradise or something like that????

Anyway… this one was interesting to paint because of the straw hat. I had just returned from an almost-downright-bad trip from Kuala Lumpur and was really looking forward to painting again. So I was having a rather good day with it. 🙂

Of course, I had 老师’s invaluable help with most of the straw hat. The hat definitely needs more work to bring out the straw-y-ness, but I am totally unaware how to proceed. Ah well… I will get to it one of these days.

I’m most happy with my lush green foliage of leaves, almost completely done by yours truly with minimal assistance. HOORAH!

I was supposed to add in more flowers since I only bothered to draw one during the session. I had sketched three but happily painted over them while I was doing the leaves. Flowers schmowers, who needs ’em anyway! Bleh.

Anyway, this one’s for keeps.  🙂

The room is getting cluttered with our half-done paintings!!

4 Responses to “Still.Life.June: Freekin Stuck!”

  1. Little Pixy Boots July 12, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I really like the background colour for the coconuts and rambutan painting. I think you should finish it if you can make the background so nice! I admire your effort because personally I don’t have the patience for still lifes 🙂

    • yuehann July 12, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Aww thanks!! Well, I had no patience too, which is why it is still as it is… untouched.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Case of the missing June Twelve « Still.Life. - July 17, 2011

    […] post is errata of sorts, as there was another painting that I had left out of last month’s review post. The reason for this was nothing mysterious at all – I just simply forgot to bring my trusty […]

  2. Happy Anniversary Still.Life! Here’s to 35 paintings! « Still.Life. - October 23, 2011

    […] Still.Life June: Freekin Stuck & Case of the Missing June Twelve […]

Leave a Reply

