Tom, Kat and 3 Kitties on the Roof

9 Feb

It has been a long time since we had kittens in our neighbourhood and I am delighted to have them back again!

I’m actually a DOG person myself but I have a soft spot for kittens… or maybe just baby animals. Hmm…

It started one day when a big grey tomcat sauntered into my house.  He had decided that the living room was going to be a good place to rest his weary paws at the end of each day. He conquered our space for about a week before he stopped coming.  I suspect my mom’s shushing drove him away eventually.  No self-respecting proud feline would stand for being treated like a pest to be shushed away… Cats are proud creatures.

Eventually, we got back to our usual routine sans Tom.  I didn’t realise how much I had actually missed seeing him come by in his distinctive “I-own-the-street” gait. Then I started hearing voices… tiny baby-like mewing. I thought I was hearing the neighbour’s newborn crying at first. I brushed it off. “Don’t be nosy”, I told myself.

Happily, the next day, my suspicions were confirmed. WE HAD KITTENS! And THREE of them! 😀 And I’m pretty sure Tom was the father.

Mommy Kat is sleek and dark like midnight, with freakishly yellow eyes that can see through your soul.  Cats scare me that way. It’s like they SOULGAZE you.  I couldn’t get a frontal shot of Kat because she quickly retreated to their hideout under my neighbour’s roof when she saw me.  If you look closely, Kitty Uno is already happily feeding, Kitty Duo is still negotiating the jump to reach Kat and Kitty Tres (the slow one) is still not out yet.

This is the jump…

It makes my heart leap each time they jump. Nine lives and all… shouldn’t be wasted on a fall.  My dad tells me that once they get big enough, Kat will probably carry them down to the streets where they will start their harsh new life as strays. It will be a hard life.

Meanwhile, they are simply enjoying themselves, exploring the playground that is my rooftop. And I am privileged to enjoy their presence. For now at least.

“Mommy can I keep them??????”

2 Responses to “Tom, Kat and 3 Kitties on the Roof”

  1. XiuJia`` February 11, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    How nice. I love kittens too. Gerald’s grandma used to keep a stray black cat. And I used to chase her around the house so she didn’t quite like me except when she needed me to give her food. LOL. By the way.. I learnt a few new words by reading your blog. 😀

    • 宇晗 February 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      活到老,学到老!:)

Leave a Reply

