Adventures with Art

14 Jan

Sometime last year, I started taking informal art lessons with one of my grandfather’s ex-students and grabbed my dad and cousin along with me.   It was my first foray into visual art, after having condemned myself in my lack of abilities following near-fail grades in school for Art.

He started us off with simple sketching exercises to teach us basic techniques and moved on to watercolour and oil painting basics. Now, I attend a still life session every Sunday to get my hands dirty in the lovely world of Art-making.  In my case, Art makes me.  I hope to post my works up once in a while, mainly to document my attempts in a chronological fashion.

Hopefully, there will come a day where I would no longer feel like I sully my artist grandfather’s name by saying that I – the one who can’t draw – was his offspring.

4 Responses to “Adventures with Art”

  1. gearldsgrotto February 10, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    You can draw and this blog is proof. Keep up the good work. I’ll be checking back

    • 宇晗 February 10, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      Thank you for the encouragement!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Six months of blogging and then what? « Still.Life. - July 19, 2011

    […] I’ve been at this blog for almost 6 months now, with 46 posts, and 6 subscribers. My top read post was the one about Geylang, its traffic most likely misdirected. Or perhaps generated by genuine interest in the lead up to the exhibition from months of work since October 2010. […]

  2. Happy Anniversary Still.Life! Here’s to 35 paintings! « Still.Life. - October 23, 2011

    […] started in October 2010, taking informal lessons from my artist grandfather’s ex-student. Together with my dad and my cousin, we made our first creations on pencil and water colour. […]

Leave a Reply

